Catch-up 2012: April

April 2012.  Gramma & Grampa only stayed a couple of days.  We went to Franklin Square and The Franklin Institute that Monday.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

My mom’s brother, my Uncle Dave, was at Hope’s party at the end of March.  He had congestive heart failure and I knew he had been ill, but I hadn’t seen him for several months, and was completely shocked to see how he had aged in that short time.  He and my mom got to sit together and chat for quite some time.

Image

If my mom took off her wig they would totally be twins!  Anyway, I am so grateful to whoever had the thought to move that chair there for my mom and have them sit together.  Unfortunately it was the last time they would see each other.  My Uncle Dave passed just after midnight on Easter Sunday, April 8th, just a week after this picture was taken.  He was such a truly good man and we miss him a lot.  His memorial service was the following Saturday.

Somebody there must have had the stomach bug because we were all sick with it for the next 3 days.  Bleck.

Oh, wait, I skipped Easter!

Image

What, you don’t let your kid eat M&M’s at 8:00 AM?  LOL.

Dressed and ready to go to Aunt Donna’s:

Image

Hunting eggs at Aunt Donna’s:

Image

Image

Aunt Donna’s mantle:

Image

Hope checking out cousin Collin’s new car:

Image

The rest of April was fairly uneventful.  My mom had a bunch of appointments and treatment.  My mom’s sister, my Aunt Lynn, stayed in town after my Uncle Dave passed to help out with going through his belongings, packing up his house, etc., so we got to see her much more often than usual.  That is the thing about when someone passes or when you attend a funeral:  it’s nice to get to see people you don’t otherwise get to see very often.  And we always say, “we need to get together more – not just at weddings and funerals!”

Leave a Reply

