Catch-up 2012: March

March 2012.  Mom continued radiation.  I studied for and took a couple of exams for an online job which I passed & got the job.  I technically still have this job but I suck at carving out time to work and therefore rarely work and don’t really make any money at it.  Ugh.  Shocking that they haven’t let me go actually.  If I could have more discipline about it, I could actually be earning enough money to be helping our financial situation.  In my defense, it really is hard to find the time between caring for my mom and my child, taking my mom to many, many appointments and trying to keep up with the household cleaning, bill-paying, shopping, cooking, laundry, etc etc etc etc.  Oh and the sleeping.  I like to do that from time to time.  I know a lot of people do it but I really find it difficult.  OK, so still March:  another good friend had her thyroid out.  Turned out to be cancerous.  Good God, enough with the cancer already!!  Somewhere around here I was diagnosed with Diabetes.  Something else I suck at:  taking care of myself.  Oy.

St. Patrick’s Day:

Image

At the end of March I started touring preschools for Miss Hope for the fall.  On the 30th the in-laws arrived and on the 31st we had Hope’s 3rd birthday party!

That deserves more than a brief mention!  My sweet cousin let me use her awesome house for the party because our townhouse is just too small to have more than, oh, 4 guests here.  We did the theme Ni Hao Kai Lan and I had all sorts of Kai Lan and Chinese-themed stuff.  Of course I intended to do a whole post just on the party – planning, prep, execution – LOL.  I kinda’ went all out.  Here are some pics!

Gift / treat / favor bags:

Image

Wrapped Hershey bars:

Image

For our youngest guests’ favor bags:

Image

Popcorn:

Image

And all this other good stuff!

Image

Water bottles:

Image

I bought the labels from Personally Yours Parties.  (That links to her eBay store.)  Awesome stuff!

Decorated Chinese take-out boxes for utensils:

Image

Food:

Image

Fake sushi:

Image

Image

Image

Cake:

Image

The birthday girl!

Image

Balloons:

Image

Party hat!

Image

Photo booth:

Image

Blowing out her candles:

Image

Gramma & Grampa!

Image

So, yeah, we kind of went all out.  🙂

Leave a Reply

