Adventures in Couponing

So I’ve been following a bunch of couponing pages on Facebook for quite some time now.  I signed up for Coupon Mom and probably some other sites that I can’t think of at the moment.  I join whatever I need to or Like FB pages as necessary to get coupons.  I love to watch Extreme Couponing or Couponers or whatever it’s called – LOL.   (I would totally do it, but we have so little space, I have absolutely no room for any kind of stockpile.)  But I’ve only really looked at the deals and match-ups and gone to get those deals a couple of times.  And I’ve never split my purchases into several transactions to get the best deals. Until today.

Here are my scores from Walgreens and Target and how I did it!

Walgreens:

Image

Transaction #1:  Lanacane Spray – on sale for $6.00.  Paid $6.00. Got back a $6.00 Register Rewards coupon.

Transaction #2:  2 Chex Mixes which were on sale 2 for $3.00.  Sharpies which were .79 with their in-ad coupon.  Walgreens tampons for $1.50 on sale.  Lipton tea for .99 on sale.  I gave them 2 coupons for .60 off Chex Mixes.  I gave them the $6.00 coupon from Transaction #1.  The total was less than $6.00 so I had to grab the 3 caramels for .99.  Total paid:  .14.  I got a .99 Register Reward coupon for the tea and a $1.50 Register Reward coupon for the tampons.

Transaction #3:  Tape (.39), Wexford pens (.99), Sharpies (.79), Glue Stick (.39), Correction Fluid (.99).  I used their in-ad coupons for all of them, and also used the .99 and 1.50 Register Rewards coupons from Transaction #2.  Now that I’m looking at my receipt, there was another 1.00 deducted but I’m not sure how or why!  LOL.  Total paid:  .34.

So for everything pictured, I paid $6.48.  I’m pretty proud of myself because it was my first time doing this kind of thing!  Also, I did get this scenario from an example online, but it included 4 packs of Bic pens that my store was sold out of, so I had to substitute the Sharpies and kind of re-figure it out on the fly!

Target:

Image

For my Target trip, I went to Coupon Mom to check out what freebies or cheapies I could get this week.  I went to Target.com and printed out the coupons.  I also had a .75 off coupon for the deodorant from the newspaper.  This was just 1 transaction.

According to Coupon Mom, the deodorant was supposed to be on sale for .97, but it wasn’t – it was $1.72.  The Reach flosses were .97 each and I had a coupon (printed from online) for $1.00 off 2.  The pens were either .99 or $1.00 and I printed 2 coupons for $1.00 off one, so they were free.  The Scotch tapes were .49 each and I had 2 coupons for .50 off, so they were also free.  The crayons were .99.  I (thought) I had a coupon for .50 off that would have made them .49. but I didn’t read it carefully – you had to buy 3.  So my total was $2.47 which was more than I had expected, but still pretty darned good!

So for everything I got today (both pictures) I paid a grand total of $8.95!  Not too shabby!

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Couponing

  1. Oh man – you are good- that is too exhausting to even think about doing. LOL. I am lucky if I remember to use one coupon at shoprite! haha! I saw one of those couponing shows once and people were diving in dumpsters, stealing people’s newstpapers, hijacking the flyers in the stores LOL, and spent all week long plotting their couponing trip – and they have like 50 boxes of dryer sheets in their closets LOL – Its just odd to me! But hey – you did get some great deals- good for you!! 🙂

  2. I’m fascinated by the whole couponing thing, but just can’t get myself together to do it right. Out of all the things I’m not very good at, couponing is high on the list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

