Potty Training Sucks!

Haven’t been here for a while … and there are a lot of things I’ve been thinking about blogging about … Penn State; a Catch Up post; our vacation; political stuff; some research I found concerning what the Bible really says about homosexuality.  But right now, this is it.  Potty training sucks!  Ugh.

We made some not-so-serious attempts before.  The first time I felt like Hope just wasn’t ready.  After that I kind of toyed with it but didn’t follow through with any consistency.  I know that was not a good idea.  Well, now she’s starting preschool in September and she has to be potty trained.  Also not the ideal situation.  We went on vacation at the end of July, and drove … so it seemed pointless to start seriously training right before we would be spending 4 days in the car.  So we told her that after vacation, no more diapers / pull-ups.  She is 3 now and it’s time to go on the potty.  They don’t make any bigger pull-ups than the size she is wearing.  She’s a big girl now.  Period.

So we started on Wednesday.  We hyped it up as Potty Day.  She got stickers AND M&M’s for saying she had to go, sitting on the potty, going, flushing, and washing her hands.  I set the timer to put her on the potty every 30 minutes.  Day 1 went GREAT.  Like, unbelievably great.  She came to me many times saying she had to go.  She went.  She got stickers and M&M’s.  She loved it!  One small pee accident and one poop accident.  All. Day.  Wow!

Day two wasn’t as successful.  She went on the potty a few times.  Had a few accidents.  Not nearly as great as Day one.

Day three was a nightmare.  I think we went through like 15 pairs of panties.  When the timer went off, she would go into the bathroom, pull down her pants and sit on the potty, but would get right back down and would not actually try.  I would put her back … she would fight and scream and cry.  This went on all day.  All.  Day.  I did wash 3 or 4 times, mainly her panties.  She peed all over the rug numerous times.  She couldn’t have cared less about stickers or M&M’s.  After Daddy got home and dealt with this just once or twice, he asked me how I keep my patience.  I replied that I don’t and I was about to lose my mind.

Day 4 was more of the same.

She hasn’t been that excited about going to school, so I haven’t said anything like, “If you don’t go on the potty, you can’t go to school,” because I figured then she REALLY wouldn’t do it.  I slept in this morning and Daddy said that she WAS excited about school today … and starting ballet … and seemed to be getting the idea that she couldn’t start those things until she is going on the potty.  But when I said that to her later?  “I don’t care.”

Ugh.

This is no fun at all!!

One thought on “Potty Training Sucks!

  1. Oh man – I am dreading this. I keep thinking if I don’t think about it, it will go away but at some point we are going to have to go through this hell LOL – Keep it up – thats the only advice I could possibly have since I’ve not had to try it yet.

Leave a Reply

