Consignment Sales

I know I haven’t posted in forever, but I’ve been wanting to do a post about consignment sales, specifically kids’.  I’ve been participating in one for a while now as a consignor and volunteer (and shopper of course!) so wanted to share a little bit about it.

In case you’re unfamiliar with the concept, someone (in my case 2 sisters; in some cases charitable organizations) runs the sale, organizes everything, rents a space, sets up racks, gets consignors, volunteers, advertisers, etc.  As a consignor, you enter your items into a program online, print tags, hang and tag your items, and drop them off at the sale.  At the sale I do, if you do one volunteer shift during the sale, you get back 70% of your sales.  If you don’t volunteer, you get 60%.  At the end of the sale, you can choose to pick up your items that didn’t sell, or donate them.

This sale (and most of them, I think) runs 3 days, and the 3rd day, if the tag says “Discount,” the item is 50% off.  (You choose whether or not to discount each of your items.)  The night before the sale opens to the public, (again, at the sale I do) volunteers get the first opportunity to shop (for 1 hour) and then consignors get to shop.

And I love the shopping!  My goal is to make more than I spend or at least break even!  I haven’t gotten my check yet from this most recent sale, but I only sold 27 items, so I think it will be about $47.  I didn’t break even.  LOL.  That’s ok, though.  It will still be nice to get the $47!

So here’s what I got this time:

Image

3 CD’s (actually 6 because 1 of these has 3 in it), a jump rope (new in package) and 2 Kindermusik resonator bells.Image

A giant Kai Lan floor puzzle, Bob the Builder Colorforms and this cool magnet toy.  (We’re taking a long road trip this summer, so I think the magnet toy, Colorforms and CD’s will all be great for the car!)

Image

2 really cute dresses.

Image

4 tops and 3 pairs of shorts.

Image

3 two-piece top & shorts outfits (1 new with tags.)

Image

3 bathing suits and a cover-up.

So how much do you think I paid for all this?  (All full price, by the way, because I went to the pre-sale for volunteers.)  I think I did pretty well getting all this for $65.  And, of course, I got rid of some stuff I didn’t need anymore and will still get $47-ish in that check that’s coming soon!

So if you haven’t been shopping at a consignment sale yet, I highly recommend it!  Go check one out.  I’m certain you’ll find some great bargains.  And if you like it, you might want to be a consignor, too!

One thought on “Consignment Sales

  1. I love consignment shops! I hav never actually been a consigner though. I keep saying I should try it. I have gotten some great things for Julianna! Good job on those clothes! I think you just have to have the time to keep going back and check for new things…. Last winter I got a Baby Gap winter Shearling coat that I saw for $75 brand new – for $8! LOL! Cha Ching! I love those bathing suits you go Hope! So cute!

Leave a Reply

